What’s your genre?

Everyone has that favorite genre that they like to read or write in. For some people that’s horror, for others it’s adventure, but for me it’s romance. My favorite genre to write in is romance. There’s nothing better to me than reading about how two people fall in love. I’m not talking about romance with a billionaire CEO, if that’s something you like that’s fine, but that’s not my favorite type of romance. Some of my favorite stories are two friends that fall in love with each other, high school romances, two people that just met, a person who didn’t expect to fall in love, and the list goes on and on. I end up spending most of the book wondering if they’re going to get together. I may not like some of the trends in paranormal romance, but it’s still one of my favorites.

I tried to write in other genres, but it didn’t work for me. When I tried writing a crime story, I had a romantic subplot so I changed it to a detective falling in love on the side while he worked on his case. Next, I tried to write a horror story and the same thing happened. The pattern continue with each genre I tried that I decided to focus my attention on romance. I found that it was easier for me to write a romance story. I think it’s because I’m a romantic at heart. I still like other genres like fantasy, sci-fi, horror, and realistic fiction, but I found that genre easiest for me to write in is romance. I would like to see more romances with different types of couples and lifestyles though that’s a story for another day.

So, what’s your favorite genre or genres to read and/or write in? Now with a poll!


2 thoughts on “What’s your genre?

  1. To read, it has to be something a bit out of the ordinary. Normal reality isn’t enough for me, so my interests range from pure fantasy (Blood Song being my most recent) through to modern with a speculative leaning (Biblical). Of recent I’ve found myself selecting things for the pure purpose of learning, so a techno thriller here for good action writing or a bit of Robin Hobb for narrative and description as an example. Not to copy obviously, but to see how it’s been done before.

    Writing? Well, I don’t tag myself to a genre really. An idea will germinate and if it hooks me I’ll invest some time in it. My current WIP is urban fantasy with a bit of quantum physics thrown in, but my shorts flirt between paranormal to sci fi. Definitely no romance through ☺

    Good question that!

    • It’s one of the reasons I love paranormal. There are times where I don’t want to read about life or the difficulties that come with it. I like to read about vampires or wizards instead. I do that with different books as well like I’ll read historical books to get a feeling of how things were in a certain time or Judy Blume to get a feel of first person.

      Your WiP sounds good I’m an urban fantasy fan and that would be interesting to see quantum physics in a setting like that. Haha I wish I could do just fantasy or scifi. 🙂

      Thank you! Thanks for your answer!

Leave a Reply

