What do you enjoy about the paranormal?

After I checked the poll, it looked like many people liked the paranormal genre, so I’m curious. What do you enjoy about the paranormal? I’ll go first and list three of my favorite things about it. One of the first things I like about the paranormal genre is the chance to write creatures in our world or put them in another setting. Would a vampire fit in well with humans? Would a creature have to follow the laws in our community or would they make their own? When I read paranormal books like the Broken Heart series by Michele Bardsley, a series I highly recommend, one of my favorite parts about that series is the ways vampires work with other creatures like werewolves, faeries, and the like.

Another thing I like about the paranormal genre are the variety of creatures. A story can have a vampire that’s not trying to drink too much blood or a werewolf that has a problem transforming during the full moon or a faerie trying to live among humans. There are so many different creatures from different places of origin to put in various situations. One situation could be a vampire trying to deal with the turn of the economy. Another could be a winter creature trying to solve a feud between another group of winter creatures, then there can be a faerie being friends with a human. There are so many more creatures out there and so many different storylines that I love looking for them. Although I do love a good vampire or werewolf story, if you know any let me know!

My third, but not last thing that I enjoy about the paranormal genre is having another way to explore different topics in the world like racism or sexism. There’s the classic feud between werewolves and vampires, then there are faeries who are trying to live in a world that has problems accepting them. I always found it easier and less depressing to read about that with creatures and see how their solutions for it. Though whenever I read paranormal I like to escape in it a bit. Instead of being a struggling college student dealing with my looming debt I can think about being any of the creatures I’m reading about. It feels good to read a problem being solved in a few volumes with a nice little bow sometimes. I can never say no to a happy endings.

So those are my three things. What are yours? Do you like to escape in paranormal? Do you have a favorite creature? Any favorite series?

I’d like to know.

Leave a Reply

