Fiction: Making use of a Good Thing

6882092-men-holding-the-word-fiction-concept-3d-illustration

Hello everyone! I nearly forgot that it’s the last day of February because of the short month >< Good thing I checked the calendar and remembered the date! Okay now we’re going to be visiting Albert again! I started talking about him and he does make appearances in Daniel and Cass’ story since he’s a necromancer trying to bring back the good name of necromancy. Now before we begin Albert does have a boyfriend. I didn’t know how people would react to reading it without being told first, but he does and he’s a demon. He’s actually Bernard Winchester’s son a demon that is responsible for building Detroit back in the settings of both New Home and Second Chances. I hope you’ll enjoy Albert as much as me. Enjoy!

Agoraphobia- fear of open spaces or of being in crowded, public places

Albert didn’t like crowds very much. He didn’t mind the parade because he was around his friends. Albert didn’t mind when his parents took him to an event because he was always around Jill or Carl. However, he didn’t like being alone in a crowd. Nor did Albert like being around too many people he didn’t know. Albert felt that if his parents or siblings couldn’t find him, he would be left behind. That was his biggest fear. Whenever Albert was in a crowd, he gripped Jill’s hand tightly. When Jill squeezed back, Albert felt safe.

Claustrophobia- Fear of confined spaces

In school, Albert was the weird one. While most of his classmates looked at elemental jobs or SORCERER and SORECERESS applications, Albert looked at Necromancy. He didn’t think there was anything wrong with that, but a few of his classmates didn’t share that view. One day after cleaning up the art closet, Albert turned the knob to get out, but it wouldn’t budge. Albert didn’t know that Arnold, Cole, and Issiah locked him inside as a joke. Albert banged on the door screaming for anyone to get him out. The closest was small, the shelves of art supplies made it smaller. Albert banged on it harder, asking for, someone to get him out.

When no one arrived, Albert curled up in the corner. Tears rolled down his face as he pleaded for anyone to save him. He didn’t know he subconsciously called for the dead. When the door opened, Albert smiled at the reanimated body standing in the doorway. He was so happy to be out he didn’t care who did it. A reanimated body found Carl, Jill, Carlina, and Aaron then led them to Albert. They were relieved to see Albert was alright. It didn’t bother them too much to see Albert protected by the bodies he summoned. They were amazed that he could summon seven bodies at fourteen.

Arachnophobia- Fear of Spiders

“Carl, Carl, wake up!” Albert shook his sleeping brother.

Carl mumbled turning over to Albert. He sat up rubbing his eyes. “What is it?”

“I need to go to the bathroom.”

“Al, you’re eight. You’re big enough to go on your own.”

“But there’s a spider in there.”

“Can’t you deal with it?”

Albert shook his head gripping his blue teddy bear tightly. “I’m afraid of it. You’re older than me, you kill it.”

“I’m ten, not that much older than you.”

Albert latched on Carl’s arm shaking him lightly. “Please, please, I really have to go!”

Carl sighed. “Can’t you get Carla?”

Albert shook his head. “I can’t break the new lock to her room.”

“Mom?”

“She’s in the library, but it’s scary at night.”

“Dad?”

“You know I can’t wake him. Carl, please!”

“Ok, ok, I don’t want you to wet yourself. Let’s go.” Carl got out of bed holding his hand out for Albert.

Albert smiled gratefully taking it. “Thank you.”

“Yeah, yeah, but I get to go on the computer first, today.”

“Ok!”

Carl shook his head walking with Albert to the bathroom. Carl could have the computer all Albert cared about was getting the spider out of the bathroom.

Hydrophobia- Fear of Water

When Albert started dating Christophe Winchester, he was amazed at how much a fire demon liked water. Albert sat on the edge of the pool watching Christophe swim back and forth. He stuck a toe in the water, but didn’t do anything more. Albert wasn’t a big fan of water, especially when he couldn’t swim. Christophe swam back to Albert, placing his arms on the edge of the pool.

“Why don’t you come in?”

Albert shook his head. “No thanks.”

“Aww, come on just one swim for me?”

“I can’t swim.”

“You ever take lessons?”

“I had a few lessons. I stopped after I did that move when you become a ball and sink under the water.”

“Why?”

“My feet touched the bottom of the pool and I freaked out. I haven’t touched water since.”

Christophe smiled. “I don’t know why that’s cute to me, but it is.”

Albert returned it. “And people say I’m weird.”

Christophe laughed placing his hands on top of Albert’s. “Well, I can teach you. We’ll be in the shallow part and won’t go any further.”

“Are you sure?”

“Positive, you’ll be close by me at all times.”

“Ok, fine, but I’m not talking to you if we go too far out.” Albert slid off the edge into the water and Christophe’s arms.

Christophe wrapped his arms around Albert’s waist. “Noted, now doesn’t this feel good?”

Albert looked down, chuckling at his shaky reflection in the water. “Yeah it’s not that bad, but I think this was an excuse to touch me.”

Christophe grinned. “Maybe.”

Albert shook his head turning to give Christophe a kiss. If I get more lessons like this, I’m sure I can swim.

Xenophobia- fear of strangers or foreigners

When Albert was little, he listened to many older wizards and witches talk about how evil demons were. They talked about how demons killed with no reason, tricked people, and shouldn’t be allowed to live in Amulet. At eight, Albert was afraid of demons. Well, he was afraid of anyone who wasn’t part of the Amulet community. At thirteen, Albert visited Coven and saw demons for the first time. He became friends with Adam and realized that the fear of demons were silly. At nineteen, Albert concluded that the older generation’s fear of demons limited their dating options. Demons were hot. At twenty-four, Albert walked around with Christophe, his demon boyfriend. There was nothing scary about Christophe or the demon community. If you didn’t piss them off, that is.

Mysophobia- Fear of being contaminated with dirt or germs

Out of Carl and Jill, Albert was the cleanest one. He didn’t like dirt very much. Albert used to take two baths everyday, even if he did a small activity. The number of baths lowered to one when he became a teenager and he didn’t clean the house so much. It didn’t stop Albert from cleaning his siblings places.

“Al,”

“Yeah.”

“You don’t have to clean my apartment every time you visit.” Jill said.

“Aren’t you afraid of picking up something from those dangerous items?” Albert asked.

“Yeah, but I wash everything after I come back from a job. I take a shower and wash my hair. Then I clean the bathroom, afterwards. I get the majority of germs. Don’t worry.”

“What about the germs on your table or kitchen or-”

“I cleaned that off too. Now let’s put this down and go get something to eat.” Jill gently took the bottle of disinfectant out of Albert’s hand.

Albert looked at the bottle in disappointment, before nodding. “Ok, I’ll try not to clean every time.”

Jill smiled. “Great, you know there’s nothing wrong with having, a little germs.” She placed the disinfectant back under the sink in the kitchen. She walked over to the bathroom to wash her hands.

Albert followed scoffing in disbelief. “That’s what you say.”

An amused Jill shook her head. I wonder how Chris handles this.

Acrophobia- Fear of heights

“I don’t know why I agreed to this.”

“Because you love me,”

“That fact may be true, but you know I’m afraid of heights!” Albert exclaimed.

Christophe looked behind him, seeing Albert standing in the doorway. He walked over taking Albert’s hands. “But the best view on the hotel is on the roof.”

“Don’t care, I’m still afraid.” Albert whispered gripping Christophe’s hands.

Christophe smiled. “Don’t worry, you’ll be with me. There’s something I want to show you.” He kissed Albert tugging on his hands lightly. Albert closed his eyes moving with Christophe. When Christophe pulled away, Albert opened his eyes. The landscape of Alu laid before them, creating an intricate design of lights and colors, so beautiful it astounded Albert.

“This is nice. Is this what you wanted to show me?” Albert asked.

“Yes. It’s my favorite place. I figured it would be perfect for what I want to ask you.” Christophe said taking Albert’s hands once again.

“Chris?” Albert asked. His heart thundered against his ribs in anticipation.

“You know how important it is when we talk about mates and exclusives, right?”

“Yes,”

“Well, there’s a question I wanted to ask for awhile. Albert, will you be my mate?” Christophe asked.

Albert stared deep in Christophe’s blue eyes, swallowing the lump in his throat. “Y-You want me? After all my fears and my job as a Necromancer and-”

“I love that about you.”

“What about Susie?”

“Having a friend as a ghost is cool with me.”

“I…I…”

“I’m from the Winchester family. You’ve met my parents, grandparents, siblings, and you’re still here. I want you, Albert. I love everything about you. When we argue, I love how passionately you defend your stance. You live a wonderful life and I want to be part of it. I love you, Albert Silver.” Christophe bent down on one knee. “Will you be my mate?”

Albert nodded quickly his bangs hitting his face. “I will Christophe. I will!”

Christophe smiled pulling out a pendant. He placed it around Albert’s neck, kissing the stone softly.

Albert smiled wrapping his arms around Christophe’s neck. “I’m so happy.”

“Me too,” Christophe said pulling Albert close.

“Hey Chris?”

“Yes,”

“Can we leave the roof now?”

Christophe nodded. “Yeah, we need to make this official.”

Albert smiled. “I agree.” He leaned close as Christophe cast a transporting spell. They left the roof instantly, looking forward to the rest of the night.

Ophidiophobia- Fear of snakes

“Adam, what the hell is that?”

Adam looked over seeing a black snake slithering on the floor. He smiled at it before returning to a letter. “That’s Leon.”

“Why is he out of his habitat?” Albert asked trying to calm his nerves.

“Leon is pretty adventurous. He probably wanted to meet you.”

“Well, we met, can you put him back?”

“Is he bothering you?”

Albert nodded. “I would feel better, if he was in his habitat.”

“Ok, sorry about that.” Adam said placing the letter down. He walked over to Leon holding his hand out as Leon slithered up and around his arm.

Albert watched in disbelief. “How can you let, um, Leon crawl up your arm?”

“He’s my pet. I raised him, well, me and Kia raised him. That’s why he comes in here all the time. Leon is not mean, he doesn’t mess with anyone. Well, he messes with Chris, but I’m ok with that.” Adam laughed placing Leon in his habitat. He cooed at the snake before placing the lid on.

Albert shivered lightly. “I don’t know how you can live with Leon. He’s so scary.”

“He’s not too scary. I’m glad I found him, normally he’s curled up in the bed. Now that I think about it, where’s Mimi?” Adam scratched his head, taking a seat at the desk.

Albert’s eyes widened, in surprise. “Um, did you say Mimi?”

Adam nodded. “Yeah, Mimi is Kia’s snake.”

Albert jumped off the bed gathering his books. “I think I’m gonna go study in your library.” He walked out the room trying not to break into a jog.

“You can always study with Chris!” Adam called out.

“Quiet!” Albert yelled back.

Adam laughed gathering his letters and dictionaries together to join Albert. He walked back over to the habitat to check on Leon. Adam blinked in surprise at the silver snake next to him. “Huh, there’s Mimi.”

Trypanophobia- Fear of needles/injections

“Is he finished?” Albert asked.

“Not yet.” Zero said.

“You should see it Al. It looks great!” Jill exclaimed.

Albert shook his head. “No, I’m fine here, thanks.”

“Do you want to go somewhere and wait until Seth’s tattoo is finished?” Christophe asked.

“No, I said I’ll be here, so I’m here. I’m fine, I just don’t want to look at the needle.” Albert said looking down at his shoes.

“Don’t you make clothes?” Issac asked.

“That’s different. Sewing needles are not like tattoo needles or the needles doctors have. I hate those the most.” Albert shivered lightly at the thought.

“After the doctor gives your shot, I can kiss it and make it better.” Christophe whispered.

Albert flushed lightly leaning against Christophe. “I’ll keep it in mind.”

“Eww, I don’t want to see my little brother flirt. Even, if PDA is normal in Coven.” Jill scrunched her nose in mock disgust.

“I have to see you and Bobby make out, so you can see me and Chris.” Albert said. He got a peek of the needle going across Seth’s skin.

Albert ducked behind Christophe’s arm. “Why did Seth pick this as a way to celebrate graduation?”

Alex shrugged. “I wish I knew the same thing, but it’s what he wanted. We had an agreement. When we graduated from college, I would get a piercing Seth would get a tattoo. I don’t know how my parents will react to it, though.” He flicked the small hoop lightly.

“Did that hurt?” Albert asked.

Alex shook his head. “No, not really, my eyebrow feels weird though.”

“Not many angels get eyebrow piercings. You’re being quite a trendsetter.” Adam said as Issac nodded in agreement.

Alex smiled. “Thanks, I hope it looks good.”

“I don’t think I’ll get one anytime soon, but it looks cool on you Alex.” Albert said.

“Thanks.” Alex said touching his eyebrow.

“Look, Seth’s done.” Jill said.

Seth walked over pulling his shirt down. “Check it out.” He displayed his arm, showing off the black and white angel wings.

“That’s cool.” Albert said.

“It turned out better than I thought, very nice.” Adam said.

“I like the different color wings.” Zero said.

“The different color wings do kick ass.” Issac said.

“So cool I love it.” Jill said.

“Not bad.” Christophe said.

Alex looked at the wings, then up at Seth. “It’s wings.”

“Yeah that’s the surprise. Do you like it?” Seth asked.

Alex walked forward drawing Seth in for a kiss.

“Well, I think that means he likes it.” Issac said. Albert shared a laugh with the room.

Glossophobia- Fear of speaking in public or of trying to speak

“I can’t do this, Carlina. I can’t.” Albert paced around the room.

“Yes, you can. You can do this Al.” Carlina said.

Albert shook his head. “I can’t do this. I’m going to freeze up. I know it.”

“Don’t worry, like Carlina said you got this.” Susie said.

Albert collapsed in the chair, placing his head in his hands. “Talking in front of people terrifies me. Why do I have to give the speech?”

“Because you’re one of the top students in the Necromancy program,” Aaron said.

“Daniel trusts you.” Carlina said.

“You have a nice voice.” Susie said.

“Yeah, but-”

“You know Daniel. He wouldn’t pick you if he didn’t think you could do it. I know giving a speech is scary, but you have the chance to change people’s opinions about Necromancy. You can show people that Necromancy isn’t evil. That it’s a necessary skill to keep balance in the world.” Carlina walked over straightening Albert’s tie. “You’ll do great, dear. I know it.”

Albert smiled. “Thanks guys. I’ll try my best.”

Carlina returned it. “That’s the spirit. Now go out there and start this graduation. We have some partying to do, that’s long overdue.”

“Good luck!” Susie exclaimed.

Aaron grinned. “Knock them alive.”

“Thanks.” Albert took a breath smoothing his shirt down. He walked across the stage, his confidence growing with the applause. Albert took his place at the podium looking around at his loved ones. He took another breath steadying his nerves before speaking. “Welcome to the commencement of the graduating class of 2014.”

Ornithophobia- Fear of birds

“Albert, where are you babe?” Christophe asked.

“In the study!” Albert called out.

Christophe walked down the hall, pushing the twin doors open. He looked around the room his eyes landing on Albert crouched in the corner. Christophe walked over, kneeling down in front of him. “What’s wrong?”

“All of Carlina’s birds are flying around downstairs. I will not be pecked again or used as old newspaper.” Albert said.

“Did that happen before?”

“Yes.”

“You lead a very exciting life.”

“The only excitement I want now is with you.” Albert whispered leaning forward for a kiss. He pulled back at the sound of a Parrot’s squawking. Christophe placed a kiss on his cheek. “I’ll get rid of the birds. Try to make it to our bedroom.”

“Ok.” Albert nodded standing up with Christophe. They shared a quick kiss before Carlina’s crows flew into the room. Albert ran out leaving Christophe with the crows. He turned to them with a glare. “You’re keeping me away from valuable make out time.”

The crows cawed in response.

Christophe sighed. “Smartass.” He shooed the crows out of the room.

Necrophobia- Fear of death or dead things

“Albert, Albert!” Jill screamed running into the Necromancy office.

Albert looked up from his computer screen. “What?”

“I’m so glad you’re here. There is this dead body walking around the items office and we can’t get rid of it.”

“What is it? A male or female body?”

“Female,”

“What’s her name?”

“I don’t know! I didn’t ask.”

“I can’t put her back, if I don’t know her name.”

“Does it matter?”

“Yes it does. Well, do you know who called her?”

“I don’t know and I don’t care. I just want that thing out. Albert, help, please!”

“Ok, ok, let’s go.” Albert picked up his staff before Jill pulled him out the room.

*~*~*

Albert walked into the Cursed and Broken Items Office noticing it empty for the first time. He looked over at the trembling crowd by the doorway. Albert shook his head. “It’s just a dead body. There’s nothing to be scared about.”

“Um, yeah, just take care of it please.” Jill said peering behind the doorframe.

“Ok, ok, hang on.” Albert said. He walked into the copy room watching the body fold papers.

“So that was your job. You worked in the copy room.” Albert said.

The woman turned to him with a slow nod.

“You don’t have to do anymore work now.” Albert tapped his staff against the ground three times. “What’s your name?”

“Cathlene Norris.”

“Cathlene, did you receive any orders?”

“Yes to work in the copy office.”

“Did you receive any end orders?”

“No.”

“Those commands are now voided by order of Albert Silver, Faust order First Class. You finished what you have been called here for. There are enough copies of request forms for the year.” Albert hit the staff against the ground causing a blue shockwave to travel around the room.

Cathlene nodded placing the papers down. She walked back over to the hole in the corner of the room. When Cathlene disappeared, Albert cast a spell to the fix the room. He walked around cleaning the room and setting it straight. I know they were scared, but that’s no excuse.

After he cleaned the room, Albert walked back over to the door. He peaked out into the hallway with a smile. “All right, she’s gone now. You can come back in. Next time, someone summons a body give it something to do and they won’t walk around aimlessly That’s the reason why she stayed in the copy room.”

“Thank you so much Albert! I thought we would never get in there.” Jill hugged Albert tightly as the room sighed in relief.

Albert returned it chuckling softly. “It wasn’t that bad. It was pretty easy.”

“I am so buying you dinner tonight. It’ll be my treat. You can invite Chris and I’ll bring Bobby. This is going to be so fun.” Jill pulled back with a big smile.

“Sure, I’ll tell him when he picks me up today.” Albert said.

“Great, well, I have work to finish. I’ll call you when I’m done.”

“All right, I’ll be in my office.”

“Ok, see ya.” Jill waved walking back into the room.

Albert smiled turning to go back down the hallway. I’ll never understand the fear of the dead.

*~*~*~*

Jill was true to her word. She placed a reservation to Nebula, Albert’s favorite restaurant. At the table, Jill told the story of Albert saving the office. Albert didn’t think it was a big deal, but Jill couldn’t help it. Christophe and Bobby congratulated him and bought another round of wine.

Albert flushed lightly, placing his glass down with a sheepish smile. “It was nothing really. It’s a standard procedure, quite easy when you know what to do.”

Jill giggled placing her glass down. “Al, you amaze me. How can you work with the dead so easily? They’re so scary.”

Albert shrugged. “It’s nothing to be afraid of. I never really thought about it before, but it’s not that hard. When someone is called back from the Second Great Plane, they’re angry because a summoner disturbed their sleep. Other bodies might seem mindless because they were given a beginning command to do. You have to give them end commands too, kind of like a computer. If you do that, then once the person finish the job they go back home.”

Jill smiled. “Al, like I said before, that’s amazing.”

Christophe kissed Albert’s cheek. “He is.”

Albert flushed lightly fiddling with his napkin. “Thanks. I’m starting to get over some of my fears though. I can swim a little bit and I don’t get dizzy spells from heights anymore.”

“Cool, so how do you feel about needles?” Jill asked.

“One step at a time Jilly bean, one step at a time,” Albert said.

Jill shook her head as Christophe and Bobby laughed. Albert grinned taking another sip of wine. He didn’t mind his fears too much. Throughout the years, Albert accepted it. In some way, his fears limited his job search. However, those same fears pointed Albert to the right occupation. Instead of pushing his lover away, it gave him another excuse to be in Christophe’s arms. Albert had many fears, but it didn’t limit his abilities. Besides, there was plenty of time to work through them.

Leave a Reply

