Fiction: Career Choices

6882092-men-holding-the-word-fiction-concept-3d-illustrationHello! Here I am with an end of the year fiction post. This one is about Albert Silver, he’s one of the main Necromancers on Daniel’s team. Daniel, is Cass’ older brother and a Necromancer like her. He decided to continue trying to spread the good name among all the people who wanted it gone. Albert is a talented Necromancer and he wants to join the department. Albert will be making appearances in New Home too. Here’s a story about him. Enjoy! Happy New Year’s Eve everyone!

In Amulet, there were jobs that teachers, counselors, and the older generation recommended. The magical army was one. If someone had the potential to join SORCERER or SORCERESS they would be pushed to join it. The same was for the Magical Authority Force or MAF for short. Other favorable careers were summoning, teaching, restorer of old magical items and text, and anything else someone could think of. The one job not recommended as an ideal career was necromancy.

During the war many dark magical beings, including psychics and seers, used necromancy to their advantage. They used the reanimated bodies to destroy villages, raid towns, and perform other unmentionable acts. When the war ended and the trials started, Necromancy fell from an honorable magic style to one held in disdain. The majority of the community shunned and avoided the once revered families who practiced the art. Those families had to change their name and learn a new form of magic. When that happened, the community accepted them again. For many years, the practice of necromancy was in secret. Anyone who mentioned it was avoided until their tone changed.

However, necromancy made a comeback with the new generation. They wanted to dispel the negative connotation associated with it. Albert was one of those people. He clutched the application form and similar papers tightly in his hand. “Man I’m so scared. What if they don’t choose me?”

Aaron smiled clapping Albert’s shoulder, “I wouldn’t worry about it. You’re one of the best necromancers Amulet has seen in over two centuries. I don’t think you’ll have any problems getting in.”

Carlina nodded with a smile, “Yeah you can do amazing stuff Al. Have more faith in yourself.”

“I’m trying, but you know how necromancy is seen. I mean Mr. Muller is still treated horribly and his family wasn’t dark.” Albert said.

“Yeah, but he didn’t stop doing something he loved. Mr. Muller made it all the way through that unhappiness so can you.” Aaron said.

Albert shifted on his feet, “I don’t know.”

“I’m with Aaron go for it. Besides, if you’re banned here you can always go live in Coven. They don’t mind necromancers at all. Well, they don’t mind as long as you don’t bring up a dead body in front of them.” Carlina said.

“I think I don’t want to see that.” Aaron said.

“It’s not as gross as people make it seem. It’s actually a very clean process. There is no blood or sacrifices just a spell and you hit your staff against the ground three times. That’s it nothing spooky or scary happens.” Albert said.

Carlina smiled, “See you already know what to do. Now go, me and Aaron will be right here waiting and cheering you on.”

Aaron nodded in agreement. Albert smiled, “Thanks guys.” He turned to the door of the necromancy office. Albert took a breath before walking in. He walked to the figure by the window. He stopped when he heard, “Go away this isn’t Magical Restoration.”

“I know, I’m not here for that. I’m here to register for necromancy.” Albert said.

The figure by the window scoffed. “Yeah right, listen most of the staff avoids this office like the damn plague why did you seek it out. How can I believe you?”

Albert swallowed the lump in his throat, but continued talking. “Because I’m the kid who raised that army of bodies and stopped the assault in Chamomile, that’s why you should believe me.”

The figure turned around revealing an older wizard. There were gray hairs woven in between raven locks, his gray eyes fixing Albert with a hard stare. “You were the kid? I don’t believe it. How were you able to do that? Do you know how powerful that spell is?”

“I do, but I was scared. I didn’t want my sister to get hurt so I asked for some help. I didn’t expect that, but I’m not complaining. My sister is alive today because of it. When I casted the spell I didn’t know it was a high level one. It was easy to cast it I thought it was a lower level spell. I’ve tried other forms of magic, but they don’t work as well. I can do necromancy. Here’s my application and test results both signed by Ms. Anemone.” Albert said handing over his papers.

The wizard took the papers looking over them with a sharp eye. He looked back to Albert, “You passed everything with high marks. What happened with the identification section?”

Albus laughed nervously, “I got the artifacts mixed up. I forgot Boswell’s watch was discovered before Biji’s scepter.”

“It’s still high though and that’s what counts. Are you sure you want to? Because once you make the contract stepping out is a long and complicated process.”

Albert nodded, “I know, but I have no intention of stepping out of this. I want to become a necromancer. I want to join this program.”

“I haven’t seen such determination in a long time. Alright, we’ll try a trial period before we start talking about contracts, staffs, and what not. What’s your name?”

“Albert Silver,”

“Silver, huh, I thought for sure you would join the tradition of joining the army.”

Albert looked at the ground shifting slowly. “I didn’t want to. I found out that the army is not for me. I discovered that about the Magical Police Force too. I know necromancy is for me though. I know it.”

“Reanimated bodies don’t scare you.”

“No more than living breathing ones.”

The man laughed tucking Albert’s papers under his arm. “Good answer, well Albert welcome aboard. My name is Daniel Hawkins. It’s good to see that necromancy is making a comeback. It’s not a bad form of magic, others just make it bad.”

“I know that’s what I tell people all the time. Hey, I heard there is another reason why people in Amulet don’t like necromancy. What is it?” Albert asked.

“Some people confuse it with necrophilia.” Daniel said with an exasperated sigh. “I have to tell people the difference so many times it’s become annoying.”

“Me too, I don’t know why they think that.” Albert said.

Daniel scratched the back of his neck, “Well some people…” he started when the door to the office opened. Carlina walked in followed behind Aaron who was trying to hold her back.

“Carlina, this is so rude. Not to mention very wrong.” Aaron said.

“I don’t care. I don’t want Albert not to get the job because of the community’s dumb attitude.” Carlina said. She broke out of Aaron’s grasp going over to Albert.

“Did you get it? Are you accepted?” Carlina asked.

Albert nodded, “Yep I got it. Thanks for your support guys.”

Carlina smiled wrapping her arms around Albert’s neck in a hug. “I’m so happy! Congratulations!”

Albert smiled hugging Carlina back lifting her up in the air. Aaron laughed walking over to congratulate Albert. Daniel watched with an amused smile. Maybe he could trust the next generation to redeem necromancy. It wouldn’t hurt to try.

Leave a Reply

