Scholastic Monday: Tips for college! (The things they didn’t tell you in high school) #10

stock-photo-10021797-back-to-school

Hello! Welcome to another Scholastic Monday! Today we’re going to talk about that one thing many college students goes through that’s not described very much. At least not in the things I’ve read and that thing is stress. I can’t begin to tell you the amount of times I’ve heard these phrases:

“You’re going to school that can’t be as hard as going to work.”

“How can you be stressed out you’re only going to school?”

“You’re not stressed out, you’re only going to school that’s not as hard as trying to raise a family.”

These are just some of the phrases I’ve heard during my time in school. I used to get really confused by them before I got angry then I sat down and thought about it. Why is school suddenly seen as not important as a job? I know some people who go to school, go to work, and take care of a child, yet the school part is always disregarded. Contrary to what some people believe going to school is not as easy as it looks, especially when it’s during a time when you’re trying to get your life on track.

When I was in high school I didn’t know how much pressure there was in college, until after my first semester. I thought I was so ready for college when I got a rude awakening. I had to change my study habits, the way I did assignments, and how I read too. Then there’s the pressure of trying to find a job during a recession, which is fun, then there’s trying to have a social life while your family keeps asking such “helpful” questions about your major. If you don’t watch it, it’s not long before that can pile up and stress you out.

I feel that this is something that should be addressed more. I don’t know where the idea that going to school means that there’s no stress when there is a lot of stress there. Some people leave because the stress becomes too much. It can cause sickness, your mind to play tricks on you, or for small situations to become bigger ones. Stress during school isn’t something that can be swept under because you’re going to school

For me whenever I heard that I would always go “Oh yeah I’m not doing anything I guess.”

Well I don’t feel that way anymore. For anyone taking one class or three, working a part time job, taking care of a family while going to school you guys are awesome. I feel that’s not said enough, you all are awesome. It’s already hard enough trying to keep up your grades when you don’t have a job. I’ve never been able to get hired while I was in school, so I could just imagine how it must be when you have other responsibilities.

Despite what anyone says going to school is an accomplishment. Doing that while taking care of other responsibilities is a big accomplishment too. I have to say tired of the statement that anyone who’s going to school doesn’t have a lot of stress to go through when you have so much stress to face daily. Between walking around the in elements, studying, and finishing assignments it’s not the easiest thing in the world.

However, I have taken some time out for myself when I feel the world closing in around me. Stress can do that to you before you know it, you’ll be really tired and skipping meals trying to finish an assignment. Sometimes you have to step back for a while even if it’s 15 minutes, a break is needed. Listen to music, drink some tea, play a game (yes Candy Crush counts), watch Netflix, a movie, something to help you calm down.

Stress may be something that happens when you go to college, but it doesn’t have to rule you.

Don’t forget there are resources on your campus if the stress becomes too bad.

Good luck this week! Continue to be awesome!

Paul the study ghost says “Stress doesn’t have to rule you. You can tell stress to take a hike!”

Here are some links to help combat stress:

A Student’s Guide to Balancing Stress: Nice article that tells you the causes of stress and how to work through it.

Managing Stress: Nice article that talks about managing stress in college.

Student Guide to Surviving Stress and Anxiety in College & Beyond : A interactive article that describes stress and the different ways to work through it.

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

