Scholastic Monday: Tips for college! (The things they didn’t tell you in high school) #9

stock-photo-10021797-back-to-school

Hello! Welcome back to Scholastic Monday! I was thinking about what in the world I could talk about since I’ve hit that point in the school year where my brain is close to mush and the only thing I can think about is how I’m finally close to graduating, but I still have my winter semester to go when it came to me. Sometimes I get into one of these modes where my anxiety and depression is at an all time high together, something that’s very fun, and it reminds me of how far I am to graduating when I’m not. Today I’m not going to do a list, this is going to be a bit of a personal post about how I chose my new major and finally enjoyed going to college again.

Before you enter college there is a lot of talk about your major and what you’re going to do in the future. When I first entered college my major was in elementary education. When I first started everything went great. I had a plan that I followed, I kept up with my classes, and I found a routine that worked for me even when I stumbled a bit. However, life had a different plan for me than I thought. It happened when my dad became sick, then later on died that changed my mindset when it came to things.

I started asking myself questions I didn’t ask when I first got into college. Is this what I wanted to do? Did I want to stay in this major that made me unhappy? Who am I really doing this for?

I tried to stay in the major as long as I could, until I was faced with a choice. Stay in a major which meant that I would have to be in school even longer while many of my friends graduated or move on to something that interest me. It wasn’t an easy decision to make. I thought that I had given up since I put in so much work towards being a teacher. The times I went to school when I didn’t want to, when I had to keep going after my dad’s death because I didn’t know what else to do, and the stress I was under every day I went to class. Not to mention the amount of times I had to defend being an elementary teacher when others told me how I wouldn’t get paid or anything like that.

Then I thought about it was all this worth it? For me, did the means really justify the ends?

No, it didn’t.

While I’ll forever love the idea of teaching with my dad, along with tutoring and helping others learn I finally realized it wasn’t for me. This news didn’t go over well with some people I knew. It made me feel really bad about my decision. I was so close to changing it when it hit me. I was an adult. An adult who could make up their mind on whatever they had to do to make their life better.

It took me a while to realize that I’m not in school for anyone else, but myself. When I was in high school I thought everything would just fall into place. I would know what I want to do in my life and everything would work out just as I planned. Well, one of the things they don’t tell you is everything isn’t going to work out like you planned. Being an adult means more responsibilities, but it doesn’t mean you have to change who you are.

When I hit 18, then later 21 I thought I would instantly stop liking all my hobbies when the opposite happened. I could buy more things now than I could as a teenager because I didn’t have to answer to anyone about what I bought. For me, it took a while for the notion to seep in that I’m an adult and I have to live my life for me, not anyone else.

I had friends tell me this many times and I thought I always knew. It wasn’t until I had to switch majors and figure out what I wanted to focus on that I realized who I’m going to school for. I’m going to school to make my life better. Because at the end of the day I don’t want to lament about how I didn’t do want I wanted to do.

So if you don’t know your major yet, that’s fine.

If you don’t think college is for you, that’s fine.

If you have a plan and enjoy following it, that’s fine.

If you don’t have a plan and you’re playing things out as they go along, that’s fine.

If you have a major you love, that’s fine.

If you have to switch majors, that’s fine. Believe it, it doesn’t make you weak or a failure or anything like that.

I think when you’re an undergrad it’s more about figuring out what you want to do. Some people might not be able to make that choice. I do hope you have something fun to do or something that make you smile.

So at the end of the day if you don’t have anything figured out it’s fine. Because you’re going to college for you. It may be hard to figure out, but you don’t have to have everything figured out just yet.

Good luck this week everyone!

Here’s some awesome links on the topic:

College Majors: FAQs: Nice article that reassures you about majors and that you don’t have to pick one right away

What to do if you don’t know what to major in: Another helpful article about what to do if you don’t know what to major in.

Flying Blind: What to do When You Don’t Have a Major: Another article that can tell you what to do when you don’t have a major yet and not to panic.

Paul the study ghost says: “Keep going! You’ll find your place one day! Have a nice week everyone!”

Leave a Reply

