Scholastic Monday: Tips for college! (The things they didn’t tell you in high school) #8

stock-photo-10021797-back-to-school

Hello! Welcome to Scholastic Monday! Hey guess what we’re in November now which means the semester is almost over! Woo! For those of you that made it this far good job! For those who had to drop some classes, it’s alright I’ve dropped classes before. Don’t fret! You’ll be able to take it over again and knock that class right out of the ball park! If you had to drop out of college for any reason, then good luck in your new adventure. All you guys are awesome and I’m so happy you made it to another November.

Now I will tell you that November is that special month where it is easy to call it quits. For me my mind always tends to check out at this point. I get tired of writing papers, reading assignments, and keeping up with my homework that I start to wonder if there are some assignments or papers I can miss too. It’s also the month where it’s easy to fall into burn out too.

I’ve also faced burn out around this month and it’s not very fun. When burn out hits it becomes so easy to not care about your schoolwork or any of your assignments. My worst year was two semesters ago when my teacher kept emailing me about my paper because she didn’t want me to fail, but at that point I didn’t care. I threw something together that got me a ‘C’ and helped me pass the class.

I know November is the time where burnt out can happen before you know it. Today, I’ll tell you how I worked through burn out and pushed through the next month.

  • I talked with someone

I know I mentioned this before, but I’m going to say it again because it’s really important.

While I’m all for listening to people, I can’t stand talking about myself. I know it’s a combination of my anxiety telling me that people don’t care with my depression agreeing along that it took me some time to finally accept that there were a lot of people who were in the same situation I was. If you don’t like talking to someone in person there are some online options to help you too. I know it was very helpful for me to tell my friends how close I was to dropping out. The support I received, even from people I haven’t talked to since middle school, surprised me.

I spent so much time living in the negative thoughts of my head that I didn’t notice that there were people around me. It made me so happy to know that I did have people in my corner during my burn out period that pushed me to keep going forward. I know there are times you don’t want to hear it or get that little push, but sometimes it’s can be the push you need to keep going.

  • List the rest of your assignments

For me writing out the rest of my assignments helped me a lot more than reading them again in the syllabus. Once I narrowed down what I had to do, it made it easier for me to plan things around it. I tried to do my papers a week early when I found that didn’t really help me. Doing it a day or sometimes hours before the class worked because that left me less time to worry about it. I wouldn’t recommend it, but this helped me get through the last papers I needed to write for my classes. After I finished it I would cross it off my list and it made me feel a bit better. It let me know that I was close to finishing the semester and that I didn’t have that many things left. Seeing the rest of my assignments in a list that I could cross off helped me very much.

  • Eating right and drinking water

I know this sounds like a simple solution that can be found anywhere right? Well, during the swing of college it’s very easy to fall into a habit of not eating right. When assignments start to pile up one after the other, the readings start blending together, and projects never seem to end it’s easy to fall into the habit of just eating whatever and living off coffee. For me this made my burn out worse because I thought that I truly lost control since I wasn’t eating healthy or drinking enough water. It’s very important to take care of yourself.

It may mean putting that project, studying, and reading on hold for a little while. That’s okay. Those things will be right there for you whenever you’re finished. It’s alright to get some food it’s important to eat before you continue or finish whatever you started. Get some water to drink, being hydrated will help you concentrate along with the full stomach. Try to get some tea or hot chocolate to mix things up a bit. I know it’s not very easy to do when those various projects are sitting in the back of your mind, but believe me it’s better to take a break now than to crash in class because you’re hungry, a bit dehydrated on top of being sleep deprived.

I know different things works for different people. If there’s a method out there that works for you I say use it! It’s really easy to fall into a funk with the seasons changing on top of the stress of school. Take one step at a time. It was something I had to learn and I found that it’s helped very much. After we get after this hump you’ll be finished with the semester before you know it.

Good luck everyone!

Paul the study ghost says: “It’s always important to take care of yourself. I know you got the rest of the week. Good luck!”

Here are some helpful links that can assist in working through burn out too:

3 Reasons You’re Experiencing College Burnout (& How to Deal): This article tells you about the common causes of college burnout and how you can work through it.

Recovering From College Burnout: 10 Tips: Here are some tips to help you recover from college burnout.

Student Burnout: This article explains how college burnout happens, ways to work through it, and to recover from it.

Have a nice week everyone!

Leave a Reply

