Geek Friday: “The loveliest lies of all…” My love for Over the Garden Wall

over-the-garden-wallHello! Welcome to Geek Friday! Today I’m going to talk about a cute little show that has stolen my heart around this time every Halloween. It’s called Over the Garden Wall and it’s the cutest show. When I first started it, I never thought I would be so into it, towards the end I fell so in love with this cute little show. It’s a five night mini-series with each segment between 11-15 minutes before they go to the next one. Each segment has two episodes or chapters with each episode moving the story along. It has a nice old timey feel with the music, story, and costumes though it keeps your attention the whole time. There are so many great things about Over the Garden Wall, but I’ll narrow them down to three.

  • The Story

At first I thought it was a story where Wirt and Greg ended up in a fantasy world where they would go and solve the mystery along with destroying the enemy called The Beast. I didn’t expect the little mini story lines in the area either. The plot with Beatrice the girl who was cursed into a Bluebird after insulting one, the Woodsman looking for his daughter’s soul, the mystery over Adelaide the figure that could send them back home, and all the little stories that talk about the people that live in that world. The way they all tie in together one way or another works out so well I can watch it over and over again.

  • The Characters

There are so many wonderful characters in Over the Garden Wall, though my favorites are the couple of tea competitors that fell in love with each other though they didn’t know it. Then there’s Lorna and Auntie Whispers and I really fell in love with Greg. Greg cared so much for his brother Wirt even when Wirt didn’t want anything to do with him at first, I’m glad he changed during the story. It was really nice to see Greg keep his optimism even when things looked grey and I thought he wasn’t going to make it, he still had a smile on his face.

Greg is one of my top favorite characters of the series along with Wirt. Greg though is amazing and he’s a very sweet boy that cares about his brother. I love Greg so much. It’s really the characters that adds to his wonderful story. Each character brings something new to the story and expand this wonderful world.

  • The art

I really love looking at this art style. There’s something so calming about it, if that’s the best way to describe it. The colors and style reminds me of one of those old storybooks that told children about adventures along the river with the animals that are there. The soft colors matched the feel of autumn where things settle down before winter comes along. It matched the emotions of the scene very well. When things were happier the colors were brighter when things became somber the colors darkened. It gave more a realistic feel to it as if I could close my eyes, listen to the music, and imagine the place. It was very nice.

I am so glad that they bought on Over the Garden Wall the week before Halloween. It gives a very nice spooky feel for Halloween which makes a nice lead in to November. I really recommend this show!

Leave a Reply

