Scholastic Monday: Tips for college! (The things they didn’t tell you in high school) #4

stock-photo-10021797-back-to-school

Hello! It’s Monday, which means it’s time for Scholastic Monday! We’re in the beginning of October, which means you made it through one month as a college student. Hooray! For new and old students congratulations! That means you made it through one month and that’s awesome. However, now that the first month is finished that means things in school are going to pick up. Assignments are going to start happening, readings, and trying to keep up with them can be a bit hard the first time around. It can also be hard doing it again with anxiety too.

Before I got some control over my anxiety I used to be very hard on myself if I missed an assignment. When I was in high school I always did my assignments on time with no exceptions. The difference between the time I was in high school to my time in college was the fact that I had a very similar schedule every day in high school. When I entered college I thought I would have the same schedule every day when I didn’t, which threw me off when I didn’t have something due at least once every day. I wasn’t used to having assignments online and I ended up missing many of them around this time of year.

I couldn’t believe it. I felt that I messed my record up somehow which led to the spiral of me being a bad student which meant I wouldn’t be able to graduate from college and I wouldn’t get the job I wanted and would end up on the street. Looking back on it now it’s amazing how my train of thoughts used to be during my first years of college. It was easy for those thoughts to come around a lot when the pressure of college set in. However, there can be a way for you to work through those thoughts and help you get through this second month. Here are some tips I learned this time around.

  • Missing one assignment isn’t the end of the world

After coming from such a record I set in high school, when I missed my first assignment I thought my college career was at an end, until I checked my syllabus. It turned out that the assignments I missed only cost around 5% of my actual grade. I nearly had a meltdown over 5% of my overall grade. After I calmed down I realized that missing a few little assignments or missing one isn’t the end of the world. It doesn’t mean you’re a bad student or that you’re going to get kicked out. It’s fine. Check your syllabus, see which assignments cost the most, and make sure to do those. I know I’ve repeated it many times, but always check your syllabus. It’s easy to forget during the first semester.

  • Failing a test doesn’t mean you’re a failure

This one took me a little longer to accept. Since I was little, it was drilled in my head that if I didn’t pass every test perfectly then those spiral of thoughts would start again. One day after I failed another test my TA (teaching assistant) told me to meet them after class. I fully expected to get a chewing out, not a talk about making a deal so I could still pass the class. It shocked me because I really expected to fail or be told that there was nothing left for me to do when I had more options than before. There will be a chance that you won’t pass a test, paper, or project. That’s okay, it doesn’t mean you’ve failed or not cut out for college. College is an adjustment period, you’ll get the hang out it in time.

  • Don’t be afraid to talk to your professor and/or teaching assistants.

When I first enrolled in college the idea of the professor and teaching assistants scared me a bit. They were a professor, someone who knew much more than me. Then there were the teaching assistants that were in Grad school, a level of schooling I couldn’t comprehend at the time. I thought they wouldn’t work with me or that I had to do everything on my own, until my first TA talked about falling behind on his work. Then when my professor talked to me after class about the book they were reading helped me relax. It helped me realize that my professors and TA was approachable. If you email them in enough time they can help you if you have a problem with an assignment or you need some help.

Of course, continue to be respectable to them. They may talk with you after class and all, but they’re still your professor and TA. Just remember that they’re here to help and you can reach out to them if you need to.

October is the month where things can pile up if you don’t watch it. If they do though, don’t worry! You can always take a class over, files can be recovered, and if you miss something it’s not the end of the world.

Have a nice week!

Oh as a bonus have a picture of a cute cat!

cute cat picture (2)

Because everyone can use a cute cat every once in a while.

Paul the study ghost says: Don’t worry! You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

