Geek Friday: Things come to an end in the Laxus Arc

Laxus picture from the final part (Image not mine it belongs to the anime team and Hiro Mashima)

Hello! We’re back with Geek Friday and my thoughts on the last part of the Laxus arc after the battles ended. I had to say I loved this arc. It was nice getting to know about Laxus and his reason behind why he did what he did. Now let’s talk about the end of the Laxus arc.

-The part that showed every patched up made me giggle. After watching them fight so hard during those chapters it was nice to see them calm down and heal. It was funny seeing Natsu and Gajeel in bandages. Natsu had so many around him that he couldn’t properly speak, Gajeel was the only one that could understand him. Brothers in arms and all that, then the fact that Gajeel had to translate for him made me giggle. I liked this part though, it showed Gajeel’s changed attitude towards Fairy Tail.

gajeel and natsu in bandages (Bandaged up Dragon Slayers)

-When Laxus came back to see Makarov it made me tear up a bit. It reminded me of a kid going to see their parent after they did something wrong and that’s how I saw Laxus. I felt he didn’t truly know the story behind why his father left, so he acted out. The way he acted out was very uncalled for. His little “game” could have hurt so many people, but I’m glad he finally talked to Makarov.

-The part where Makarov told him how much he wanted to make sure he was happy hit me right in the heart. It hurt that he had to kick Laxus out, but I could see why he had to do it. Laxus did act wrongly and family or not he had to leave. That panel of Laxus accepting though and walking out while Makarov cried hurt.

-Then there was the part where Laxus said goodbye to his friends. It was touching to see how they still wanted to be his friend and even willing to take the blame for what happened. If there’s one thing I love about Fairy Tail it’s theme that we’re family no matter what. I’m glad Laxus’ friends are interacting with everyone in Fairy Tail again. I almost didn’t recognize Freed after he cut his hair, but I remember reading how that’s part of Japanese culture then it started to make sense. I know Laxus had to leave so he could find himself and work through some of those problems.

-Of course I had to write about the parade. It was cool seeing everyone perform from Lucy and the girls in their cute outfits, Gray and Juvia on the float together (I got really excited when I saw that. It was so cute!), Natsu trying to do fire when he’s still healing, lovely Erza performing with JELLAL LOOKING IN THE CROWD! I SAW HIM! AND GOT SO EXCITED! *clears throat* Anyway continuing on then there was Makarov and how silly he was. Then that flashback of kid!Laxus which broke my heart then when they did that sign. His sign. I nearly started crying. Everyone did it! Everyone wanted to show Laxus how much they still cared about him and it hit me so hard to know how much they are like a family at times. Seeing Laxus tear up didn’t help either

-Then when we met Laxus’ father he’s awful! I can’t stand parents that use their children for selfish gain. Nothing burns my blood more than that, but then I thought Gajeel had betrayed them and I almost frowned at him, though something told me to keep faith in Gajeel and it paid off. Very dangerous for him to be a double agent, but I’m glad he’s helping out the guild. I hope they beat Laxus’ father I really do.

-I didn’t miss Erza thinking about Jellal. I can’t with those two, I really can’t.

-Overall, this arc was great! The battles, the relationships, the way that Makarov wanted to make sure everyone was safe, my girls being amazing, my guys kicking butt, and everything wrapping up in the end was nice. I really liked the Laxus arc and I can’t wait to keep reading.

Leave a Reply

