Geek Friday! Things are heating up in the Laxus Arc!

Natsu and Laxus fight (Image not mine it belongs to the anime team and Hiro Mashima)

Since I felt so much when I first read this arc I split up my thoughts in about four parts. Today we’re going to continue with it! Sorry for the lack of writing posts, but I’ve been blocked on some original stuff for a while that I have to get back to soon because I have so many ideas for it. For now let’s talk about one of my recent obsessions Fairy Tail and the Laxus arc!

Alright time for me to babble about the battle between Laxus, Natsu, and Gajeel.

-First I’ll start off with my worry over Makarov’s condition. I know it’s his age and he’s not the fierce fighter he used to be when he was younger. Once again it’s my personal feelings coming out towards my own grandpa that has me all protective of Makarov, but I’m glad to see Porlyusica coming to help him. Not to mention the way he tried to make sure that no one in the town would get hurt. So sweet.

-Now on to the fight. That fight was epic! I loved it so much! I can’t believe Laxus would go so far, until his past was revealed. He was mad at Makarov for ex-communicating his father and he took it out on everyone. It didn’t justified his behavior or the way he acted earlier by trying to make the Guild stronger at some attempt to try and find his father or be strong enough. I’m kind of basing this on the way Natsu told him that they were family regardless of blood and it made him hesitate and seem angrier in a way. As if he didn’t want to accept that his dad didn’t come back and try to see him. Then there was the way Makarov ex-communicated him, which I’m sure to Laxus looked as if Makarov kicked him out without any reason. With Fairy Tail being “weak” it wouldn’t work to bring his father back. It seemed as if Laxus wanted to show Makarov and his father that he wasn’t weak and the guild that his grandfather ran wasn’t weak either.

-That Natsu and Laxus fight was intense! Every time Laxus shot some electricity at Natsu I didn’t know if Natsu would be able to survive it. I was happy to be proved wrong. I cheered when Natsu finally got a chance to hit Laxus since he was unable to hit him before. When the fight changed into Laxus’ favor I wanted Natsu to get up and I thought that he really hurt him too. I didn’t know how Natsu was going to get out of this one, until Gajeel came! I cheered when Gajeel saved him and how cool they were acting towards each other. The whole two dragons being able to share the sky was so cool! I loved it!

-Next their attacks and using them together was really cool! I liked how it show that Gajeel was starting to accept being in Fairy Tail the same way Juvia sacrificed herself so Cana wouldn’t be hurt. Gajeel joined a fight where he lost against someone (while protecting Levy from being shocked I remember that ^^) that the way he worked to help Natsu fight was so nice. I liked the way iron and fire worked together to fight Laxus.

-It surprised me to know that he was an electric dragon slayer. However, when Gajeel pointed out how Laxus wasn’t really acting like himself I read that part over again and noticed the same thing too. It felt more like he was throwing a fit as if he wanted to show Natsu that he didn’t need family to be strong when that’s not how Fairy Tail works. Laxus held a misguided attempt to try and be strong by being alone when it worked better when he wasn’t.

-The part when Gajeel used himself as an electric rod was cool and showed how much he did care about Fairy tail at that point. Even though it broke his leg I’m just glad he was alright. I giggled when he saw Levy and told her to leave because he didn’t want her hurt. Yes, my Gajeel/Levy feelings are growing and they’re growing each time I see them together! Anyway, I enjoyed the way Gajeel gave Natsu an opening to attack Laxus and knock some sense into him.

Alright last part next Friday where I talk about how the end made me tear up. See you!

Leave a Reply

