Writing: Three reasons why it’s not reinventing the wheel

Hello everyone! It’s so great to be able to write like this again. While I love being an English major, there have been some times where I wanted to yank my hair out. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing. It’s something I’ve been doing since I could pick up a pen and put down the adventure of a girl with her cat. However, there are some things I come across while writing that makes me want to put everything up and never visit it again. I could never stay away for long though, but there were some times in English that made me want to explain that I’m writing not reinventing the wheel. Here are my three reasons about why that is.

  1. It will never be perfect: I understand that many of my professors wanted me to go beyond my abilities and make the perfect paper. However, there is a problem with that, it will never be perfect. Sure, I can work on it, until it looks good to me though I know it will never be perfect. If I tried to make everything I write perfect then I would never get anything finished. I used to feel that everything has to be perfect before I published it or turned it in when some of my best work has been written a few hours or days before my deadline. The times I’m not worrying about making it the most perfect of papers ever. If it’s one thing I learned it’s not to be so hard on myself when it comes to that. I know that I can always improve and while it will never be perfect, it will be good to me.
  2. Ideas are constantly recycled: If there’s one thing I’ve noticed it’s the way that ideas are recycled. While it may be a new set of characters, setting, and plot there will always be certain things that happens in a story. There will be a hero looking to fight the villain, two people looking to fall in love, someone taking a soul searching journey, etc., Sure the way the ideas are written will be different along with the problems that they face, but the main ideas are recycled to fit the era that they are written in. I’m sure many of my papers and stories aren’t the newest ideas, but I’m trying to approach it in my way with my view of the world.
  3. Clichés are alright: I don’t know if it’s common, but I don’t have a problem with a cliché. I don’t know if it’s because of me, but I have no major problems with clichés. There are a way to add a little twist to clichés and present it in a different way. If I read a story that has a cliché I don’t mind too much. It might sound lazy, but sometimes I like reading a story where I know what’s going to happen next. After spending so many times trying to reanalyze a piece and find something that no one has found before, it feels good to be able to read something that I know will have a happy ending or that the hero will make it alright. I don’t think clichés are too bad. I think you can use them for inspiration too.

I have a few more, but overall I don’t see writing as reinventing the wheel. I see it as adding a new design to the wheel or upgrading a car with a brand new sets of wheels.

What about you? Do you agree or have a different view about writing?

I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

