New Home: Chapter 1

Hello everyone! I’m starting over with New Home with a few added details and changes to everything. I cut it down, but this is my first attempt at serial fiction so any tips will be welcomed! It will follow the same chapter schedule as before with Cassandra going first, then Will, until they’re working together. I live in Detroit, it gives me many ideas of how the paranormal could help the city. Well enjoy!

“I think you should give him a chance Danny. If he sought you out then I think that’s a safe bet that he wants to be in the Necromancy program.” Cassandra Hawkins said as she pressed the speaker button on the way to her car.

Daniel, her brother, groaned on the other side of the line. “I can’t be too sure, though. I’m getting too old to be played like a fool.”

“You’re not even that old. You still look like someone in your mid-twenties.”

“Don’t care.”

Cassandra shook her head as she got inside her car. She was one of the magical people to join the new places in Detroit. A few years ago, during Detroit’s recovery, the magical community came out of the shadows and restored many of the troubled areas to the thriving communities it used to be. Their work started at Six Mile and stretched to Eight Mile and Outer Drive, with further plans to continue. Cassandra lived in Chamomile, the new neighborhood in the Outer Drive area. The new areas were renamed to reflect the changes in the city.

Cassandra placed her phone on the charging dock before she threw her purse on the floor and reached for her sunglasses. “It’s been three years since someone played that prank on you. I think it’s safe to say that they’re not coming back to do it again. Besides, if he passed his practical, wrote a 15 page paper about the history of Necromancy, and knows the importance about keeping the balance between our worlds then I don’t think you have anything to worry about.”

“I guess so. He is a pretty good kid, a bit clumsy, but his magic is top notch. I want to give him a chance, but you know how people feel about Necromancy.”

“I do.” Cassandra said as she rubbed the scar on her brown wrist while she waited at the red light. She knew all too well how people felt about Necromancy. The magical community in Chicago had no problem letting her know that.

“I’m sorry I…”

“Danny, it’s alright, don’t worry about it. Now getting back to your new recruit, if Anemone said that he’s good then I think you should trust him. She did say she was going to bring the program back.”

“She’s part of the council. How can we take her word seriously?”

“I believe her. She did help me get my shop up and running.”

“That was a given though.”

“Not true. I didn’t have a chance until Anemone came along and helped me get the papers I needed.” Cassandra said. She had the room to build her bakery that doubled as a fortune telling shop, but the paperwork took longer than she expected. Anemone, one of the leading witches in the restoration, pushed for the opening of businesses. Her belief in magical owned businesses helped the abandoned business strip on Eight Mile thrive again.

Daniel sighed from the other side of the line. “Alright, I’ll give him a chance.”

“I’m glad you will.”

“Yeah. So, are we still on for lunch today?”

“I can make it.” Cassandra said as pulled into the parking lot of the shop. She turned off the engine, grabbed her purse, and got out the car. “So do you–”

Cassandra stopped when she spotted a man in faded blue jeans and a red t-shirt, sitting in front of the door. He dug the toe of his gym shoe in the dirt and ran a hand through his short black hair. Cassandra didn’t sense anything malicious from him, but didn’t know if she could come to a decision so quickly. Daniel’s voice took her away from her thoughts.

“Hey, are you there?”

“I’m still here. There’s a man sitting in front of the door and I…no, you don’t have to come here! Danny don’t!” She exclaimed before the line went dead and Daniel appeared next to her.

“You just had to teleport, didn’t you?” Cassandra sighed as she put her phone back in her purse.

Daniel shrugged. “Teleportation doesn’t use much magic. It’s useful for emergencies like this one.”

“I wasn’t in trouble. I could have handled it.” Cassandra frowned and crossed her arms over her chest.

“There’s an unfamiliar guy at the shop who looks like he’s been waiting on you all night. That doesn’t seem suspicious?”

Cassandra huffed. “Well, I–”

“Yeah thought so, look I–”

“What about the department?”

“Albert is watching it.”

“A few minutes ago, you didn’t want to hire him.”

“I’m not going to be here for long, just until we find out why this guy waited here all night.”

Cassandra glared. “Daniel.”

Daniel returned it with one of his own. “Cass.”

They glared at each other–it reminded Cass of their childhood fights–ready for the next point in their argument when a cough interrupted them. Cassandra turned to the man in front of her, noting the blue moonstone around his tanned neck. She straightened up and put on her best professional smile. “Hello, can I help you?”

The man gave a nervous smile. He wiped his hand against his jeans and offered it to her. “Good morning, my name is Will. I’m here for the job.”

Cassandra shook his hand. “Yes, I remember you made an appointment a few weeks ago. Nice to meet you, I’ll be right with you in a minute.”

Will nodded. He walked back over to the door as Cassandra turned to Daniel. “I can handle it from here. You go back to work and I’ll see you at lunch.”

Daniel didn’t look convinced as his eyes darted over to Will, then back to Cassandra. “Alright, but if you need some back up let me know, okay?”

Cassandra nodded. “Okay,”

Daniel gave her a quick hug and muttered the teleportation spell back to his office. Cassandra shook her head, her life as the baby of the family continued to be fun. She checked her watch before she looked over at Will.

I suppose it’s time to start the interview. She walked over and opened the door. Cassandra smiled as she gestured inside.

“Follow me, please.”

Leave a Reply

