Cut and Paste: The three joys of Editing

The process of writing isn’t too bad. Sure, there are times where I don’t want to poke at the same thing over and over again. Then there are times where I forget that I finished the story in my head, but it’s not finished on paper. It’s something else I have to work on. Then it’s trying to find the time to write during school, friends, and life, the same problem I’m sure many writers face. However, the one thing I don’t mind about writing is editing. Whenever I get anxious about a part I think doesn’t fit or something that doesn’t sound right, it helps to know that I can always edit it out. Here are three reasons why I don’t mind:

  1. It helps me get to the point: Sometimes I’ll want to put in that thing that I think ties the story together. It could be an important part that sets up something for one of the characters or the breakfast my protagonist had. I think that’s important, but I don’t think many people want to know the details of my main character’s breakfast. It’s easy for me to ramble on and on about the different things in the story. Sometimes it’s need to be edit out to move the story along.
  2. Things can change: When I first started writing I didn’t know much about the importance of editing or reading over what I did. I would post a chapter with choppy sentences, misspelled words, or little notes I wrote that I forgot to erase. When someone first edited my work I had the first reaction of “oh gosh my work suck” then I looked it over and it did. Looking at the changes helped me realize that there is room for improvement.
  3. It helps me focus: Whenever I edit someone’s work it helps me focus. I’m really bad at look at my edits for my own stuff, but when I work on other’s stuff I work very hard to make sure their things are the best. I don’t know if it’s because I haven’t been burnt out with editing or sick with words, but I don’t mind checking someone’s work. It makes me happy to know that I helped someone out with their stuff. Editing helps me focus when all I want to do is surf on tumblr for hours on end even though I have things to do.

I’ve seen some articles against editing, but I see it as an important part of the writing process. One day I hope to do this as a job. My opinion my change, until that time comes editing is something I don’t mind.

4 thoughts on “Cut and Paste: The three joys of Editing

Leave a Reply

