The castle will always welcome you: What’s your favorite fantasy setting?

Yes, I’m aware of the cheesy title, but what better way to introduce the topic of fantasy settings by referencing with one of my favorite fantasy novels Harry Potter. A series I grew up and enjoyed very much. Next to romance and paranormal, fantasy is another genre I love. One of the things that has always stood out to me when it came to Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, or Artemis Fowl is the setting. I love the settings in fantasy novels and the way the people in that world live in it. It’s another way for me to learn about the awesome world the writer created.

There are the huge castles, the sweeping forests, the snow filled mountain ranges, and so much more. Then there are the different types of creatures like elves, witches, dwarves, giants, and the like that have to try and live together in the same world. I’ve always liked that with the setting comes a different way to do things like the way Harry did schoolwork in Harry Potter or the way Holly got her job in Artemis Fowl or Sophie’s curse in Howl’s Moving Castle each story had a different set of rules that worked for their setting.

I try to do the same when it comes to picking a setting, but it’s hard for me to choose one. I can’t decide if I should make a fantasy race within a contemporary setting or make a fantasy setting that’s very different from our world. I wonder if a story can be fantasy if there isn’t any difference between a fantasy story or a contemporary one.

If the setting is contemporary with fantasy creatures then how do they live in our world? Can fantasy creatures live in our world without much trouble? Would the genre change if there are fantasy creatures in a contemporary setting? Is there a set of rules that someone has to follow when writing fantasy or a list of tropes? I know there are books that has the traditional fantasy setting that’s very different than our world, but I tend to lean towards books where there is fantasy in our world like magic to help with the chores or being able to fly to place to place.

There are so many choices when it comes to fantasy it’s hard to pick just one.

I’m curious to know.

What’s your favorite fantasy setting?

2 thoughts on “The castle will always welcome you: What’s your favorite fantasy setting?

  1. I prefer school and the woods. The woods is mysterious and strange that anything can happen every second of the day while school is also filled with adventures such as what would characters do in a crowd? or maybe the villain is one of the people at school.

    • That’s my favorite kind of fantasy story too. What’s hiding in the woods? What kind of magic or person is lurking in the school? Like the villain that’s a trusted teacher, but they’re actually the villain. It’s fun to try and figure out what’s happening in both places.

Leave a Reply

