Characters: Who do you like?

One of the things that I do when I start a story is work on the characters. One of the things I’ve noticed is that many of the characters I start with are male. I’ve tried to figure out why that happens, but I haven’t put my finger on it yet. Well, after that I try to figure out the character’s personality. Do I make them a hothead? Do I make them a caring person? When I make character I try to make them different than me, but I put a little part of my personality in some of them. I don’t put it in all my characters or they would second guess many decisions and have to deal with GAD (Generalized Anxiety Disorder) on a daily basis. I have someone who makes decisions off the top of their head without worrying about it and someone else would be selfish, since I’m selfless. I find it fun to write someone who is confident in their field of choice and can keep going when life knocks them down.

It’s the same with my favorite characters. It varies from the very shy girl who never seems to get the hero to a hero that has unconventional means to solve problems. Some of my favorite characters are very different than me, but I guess that’s why I like them so much. They can do things that I would never try or even attempt to do. Except the villains, I couldn’t be a villain, but some villains have views that are understandable. However, it depends on the way the villain acts as a person for me to understand them.

The hothead, the know it all, the shy scientist, the war-hardened solider, there are so many possibilities that I love them all. It makes it hard to choose.

I wonder, what’s your favorite character?

Leave a Reply

