WVODH Chapter 1: Dana

This is my first time writing in first person. If something doesn’t sound right let me know.

I looked over at the clock on my desk and frowned at the time. It was a quarter to eight and my shift would be up soon. Time seemed to move faster since I became a vampire. I bookmarked my place in my book and got up to take my shower.

One of the good things about being a vampire, my reading ability has doubled. I can stay up all night and finally finish those books that have been taking up space in my bedroom. I can always get to the midnight openings of a movie or a release of a game and download to my heart’s content. The few downsides are I’m not rich like the vampires in the books beside my bed. I don’t have the best car or a penthouse apartment, but I’m working on it.

I’m also working on my student loans, but who isn’t?

I took a quick shower and washed my hair. Unfortunately, my hair still knotted up when humidity rolled around. Too bad vampirism didn’t changed that. I finished my hair and walked over to my closest. I looked over my shoulder at the clock again.

It was eight and I had an hour before I had to go to work. I quickly put on my clothes and grabbed my work clothes out of my closest. I looked around for the pamphlets I needed for today’s meeting. I saw the pile on my desk and walked over to check them. I had to make sure that I took all the pamphlets with me this time. Thanks to the explosion of vampires in the media, everyone wanted to be one.

I have no problem with that, but it’s my job to make sure people know what they’re getting into.

It’s better than how I changed that’s for sure. The one time I raked up the courage to go see a midnight premier is the time I get jumped by a hungry vampire. I know, I know going to a movie premier in downtown Detroit isn’t the smartest idea, but I had tickets! I live in Midtown too, so it wasn’t that far away.

The new paranormal section opened up too so security was there! I guess it would have been smart to park on a main street instead of a back one, but have you tried parking in Detroit late at night? It’s a headache, that’s for sure.

Anyway, I was walking to my car when someone pulled me into an alley. I used my pepper spray, but it didn’t work. The strangest thing though the vampire apologized to me before he took my blood. He also stayed with me after I changed and gave me a job. Funny how things work out just when you thought they were going to end. I would have liked the choice to change, but I’m alive. Well, you know, so that’s what counts.

I wish my loans could go away though.

I licked my fangs as I checked the time again. I wondered if I could get something to eat before work. I wasn’t too hungry, but it would be a good idea to see my donor. One of the new buildings they made when the paranormal section came through. It’s not too far from Harper Hospital, so I wouldn’t be too late for work.  It’s never good to see a patient as a potential meal. I put my work clothes and shoes in my bag. I hoped it didn’t crush the pamphlets I didn’t need to hear that lecture again. One of the downsides of having the vampire that turned you as your boss. It wasn’t too bad though.

I slipped on my favorite pair of sandals and grabbed my bags on the way out the door. I would change at work after I finished visiting my donor for the evening. Another part of the paranormal program is the donors that volunteer so vampires don’t jump on anyone in the night. Sometimes I wished I was human again so I could join the program. You get paid pretty good for that.

I didn’t mind my job though.

I just hope the people I talk to remember about the donors and keep the pamphlets.

I spent a lot of time on those.

Leave a Reply

