New Home: Chapter 7

Cassandra hoped that Daniel’s favorite restaurant, Soups and Spells, would improve his mood so she could tell him about the beginning of her day. The soup shop wasn’t too far from her coffee shop and not too far from the Necromancy office. She picked his favorite booth by the window and gave him a coupon for his favorite soup. However, things didn’t turn out like she planned.

“What do you mean that guy fainted?”

Cassandra sighed as she stirred her New England clam chowder. It was her favorite, but it didn’t help her ignore the frown on Daniel’s face. Cassandra let the spoon sink a bit in her bread bowl before she looked up at him.

“I told you everything was alright. I got him to the hospital in time.”

Daniel shook his head. “Doesn’t matter, someone fainted and almost bled out in front of you.”

Cassandra bit her lip. “He called and apologized for it, though.”

 “How does that make things better?”

Cassandra shrugged. “He didn’t try to lie about it.”

Daniel sighed and stirred his tomato bisque soup. “I don’t like the way this sounds. I mean, why did he pass out? Did you know why?”

Cassandra nodded. “I do. He had slashes along his side and it looked like he tried to take care of it, but didn’t do a good job.”

Daniel’s eyes widened as he placed his spoon back in the bread bowl. “C-Claws? Cass! He sounds dangerous! Please tell me you’re not giving him a second chance.”

“Well, yeah, I am. I mean, we got a second chance it’s not fair if I don’t do the same.”

“It’s not the same as giving a wizard or witches a second chance.”

“That’s one of the reasons I opened my shop.”

“I know, I just want you to be careful that’s all. I want to know something. Was he wearing a pendant?”

“Yeah it was a moonstone.”

“Oh great, a werewolf, that’s what we need.”

“Danny!”

“What? You know the rumors about werewolves. It looks like it’s true if the claws on his sides are any indication. Werewolves are unpredictable; are you sure you want him in the shop?”

“Yes I do. We welcome all to the shop, some of our best customers are come from Coven. I’m won’t turn anyone away if they want to work.” It’s one of the things I continue to use from healer training.

Daniel’s frown didn’t leave his face as Cassandra sat up in her chair and stared back with her own frown. One of the problems with having a headstrong sibling, they didn’t back down when the urge of winning a fight was near. Their staring contest lasted for a few more seconds before Daniel groaned and sat back in his seat.

“Fine, but I’m keeping my eye on him.”

Cassandra grinned triumphantly as she ripped off a piece of her bread bowl and popped it in her mouth. “I’m sure you won’t have to worry about him. Now, how did you day go so far?”

The Necromancy office opened two weeks ago and hadn’t seen much action except for a few fake tips. She wished she could help, but her shop was first priority.

“Albert is a nice addition to the office. He’s really helpful and I don’t have to worry about things mysteriously disappearing or anything. He’s very serious about being in Necromancy. He even dealt with a fake tip that ended up being real.”

Cassandra giggled. “What happened?”

“Well, Albert told me that the guys who called in the tip destroyed part of a home where a disgruntled ghost stayed. You know ghosts don’t like their homes messed with, so they had to get help from the losers they called.” Danny said with a smug smile.

“Serves them right. How did Albert do with the ghost?”

“He’s a natural. He took care of it and didn’t need me to intervene. I couldn’t believe it, this is actually happening Cass. Maybe we’ll get more people; at least I hope we do.” Danny said as he placed his spoon down by his bowl. Cassandra noticed the way his hands shook. Daniel always tried his hardest to use his brave face, but she saw through it. She knew he worried about Albert leaving and Anemone taking his funding away.

It wouldn’t be the first time it happened.

She reached over and patted his hand. Daniel looked up as Cassandra gave him a reassuring smile. “I’m sure you will.”

Daniel nodded. “Thanks.”

“Anytime, so did anything else happened today?”

“Yeah, it did.” Daniel returned to his soup as he told her about Albert’s newest partner, a ghost named Susie. Cassandra enjoyed her soup and listened to his story. It was good to see Daniel enjoying his job again.

Cassandra couldn’t deny that it would be nice to return to her original magic class. She missed her staff even if she carried it in her pocket every day. She wondered what it would be like to carry her staff out in the open again.

 

Leave a Reply

