New Home chapter 5

Cassandra was a creature of habit, going through her routine reaffirmed that. She didn’t like to have too many surprises throughout the day, although she knew that was impossible. Every day bought something new that she had to deal with in some way. It was probably the reason Will stayed on her mind. He interrupted her flow; it knocked her off of balance more that she thought.

 Cassandra saw someone hurt before, but she didn’t like to think about it. It brought back too many memories of people hurt, people she couldn’t save…

It wasn’t good to dwell on unpleasant memories about a time when she once thought about becoming a healer. Those thoughts wouldn’t help her situation. Cassandra didn’t know if she even had a situation or if she was blowing thins out of proportions. She sighed as she played with one of the charms in her reading room. Now that she wasn’t panicking she could think about the way he looked.

He was attractive she couldn’t deny that, he had an easy smile, nice arms…

Cassandra slammed the charm down on the table and shook her head. There must be something wrong with her if she’s fantasizing about a wounded man on her floor.

I guess it’s been awhile since I’ve had a date. She sighed and sat back in her chair. She almost disappeared in her thought again when the phone rang. She jumped, took a breath to calm down and grabbed the phone.

“Hello Rue Coffee and Readings, Cassandra Hawkins speaking, how may I help you?”

“U-Um…Ms. Hawkins?”

“Yes?”

“Er it’s Will, the guy who passed out on your floor.”

Cassandra flushed, thankful that Will couldn’t see it. “Oh I see, yes, I remember you. How are you by the way?”

“Fine, the doctor said if I rest for a few days I should be fine.”

“That’s good. Um, I won’t be in trouble will I?”

“Unless you have claws, I think you’re good.”

Cassandra laughed. “I checked I don’t have any claws at the moment.” She bit her nail when Will chuckled at the other end.

“Let me know when you do. I can help you take care of them.”

“Sure thing.”

“I have something else to ask, if it’s not too much trouble.”

“You can do the interview again.”

“How did you know?”

“I do readings remember, not to mention it did get cut short.”

“Yeah I guess it did, so when can I…”

“Whenever you get out, let me know and I’ll set it up again.”

“Alright, thanks. Well the nurse is scowling at me, guess I should get off now.”

“I do have to get back to work.”

“Okay, well, thanks for the second chance. Ms. Hawkins?”

“Yes?”

“I’m sorry.”

“It’s alright.”

“Thank you. Have a good day.”

“You too.”

Cassandra hung up the phone and sat sittback in her chair. He sounded very genuine. I haven’t heard someone apologize to me like that in a while. Was he actually worried? She slid her fingers through her hair and sighed in exasperation. It’s been a while since a guy apologized to her like that, like he meant it. It didn’t mean anything else.

Cassandra rested her head against her desk. She didn’t want her little routine broken up. She wanted to go to work, go home, listen to Daniel, hang out with Eve, and go to bed. She didn’t need something to stop it. Sadly, life didn’t work that way.

Cassandra looked at the clock and shot up in her seat.

Crap! I have to meet Danny for lunch! She got out of her seat and grabbed her purse on her way out the room. She almost bumped into Eve in her rush.

“Eve! I’m so sorry! Are you okay?”

Eve nodded. “I’m alright. Why are you in such a rush?”

“I told Daniel I would meet him for lunch. You all don’t need me, do you?”

“No, I just wondered if you were okay.” Eve said.

Cassandra smiled and patted her shoulder. “I’m fine, you go back to work. I’ll let Danny know how you’re doing.”

“Alright, see you when you get back!”

“See you.”

Eve smiled and walked back over to the café side. Cassandra watched her with a fond smile. Ever since she found Eve on her doorstop, the woman proved to be a good help in the coffee shop and around the house. She was a good roommate; Cassandra hoped she wouldn’t leave too soon.  With Eve in the other room, she checked her watch and walked out the door.

She hoped Danny would be in a better mood.

Leave a Reply

